HeiDetect Wheel Robot

A robot ensures perfect rims

As part of the HEITEC group, HEITEC PTS is primarily active in the robotics and automation industry. Take, for example, the “HeiDetect Wheel Robot” fully automatic wheel test facility that inspects cast aluminum rims for defects.

Complex system

The system comprises a computed tomography scanner and a robot arm that picks up the rims, rotates them in the CT scanner, and replaces them. The data is evaluated using special software programmed by the Fraunhofer Development Center for X-ray Technology (EZRT). The wheel x-ray robot is used, for example, in the automotive industry and integrated into the production line. Dimensions of the HDWR (HeiDetect Wheel Robot): Volume approx. 35 cubic meters, weight 12 tons.

HeiMAX OPS supports assembly

The assembly of this type of system is extremely complex. So it’s no wonder that a solution should be found that’s as error-free and precise as its subsequent operation. In 2017, Michael Messerschmidt, head of the Software Business Field at HEITEC, received the following product inquiry: Can you modify your HeiMAX maintenance assistant so that it helps us assemble the machine? “Of course we accepted the challenge, because there was no problem in terms of program architecture,” recalls Messerschmidt. Several months later, HeiMAX OPS was developed.

Successful pilot project

OPS stands for “operations.” Felix Richter, Head of the Manufacturing and Assembly Department and Project Manager for x-ray technology at HEITEC PTS GmbH, worked on the pilot project with the mobile assembly assistant. “In the fall, we assembled the first machine using the HeiMAX OPS software.” After four weeks, the system was finished and Messerschmidt received the first progress reports on the assistant tool. “A few changes had to be made: For example, it made more sense to arrange the assembly steps in a different order. But on the whole, the group was satisfied with the software,” concludes the software expert.

Documentation by touch

What are the benefits of digital assembly? It eliminates the endless piles of paper assembly instructions as well as the task of manually documenting construction. HeiMAX OPS does this via touch display. Assembly errors can be easily documented to prevent their repetition, as can suggestions for optimizing the process.

For managers as well, digitally traceable assembly has measurable advantages. At any time, they can check online to see how far the process has progressed. They can efficiently assign their employees jobs, appropriately delegate tasks, and realistically plan the entire process. This pays off. Instead of being lost, knowledge and experience are stored by the system and further processed. The program learns along with its users.

HeiMAX OPS also entered series production

At the start of 2018, the assistance tool would prove itself on a larger scale. A manufacturer of aluminum wheels who’d been a HEITEC customer for many years wanted to use the HeiMAX OPS assistance tool to assemble multiple wheel robots in parallel.

First the necessary components were produced and then, in early January, transported to the customer’s site in Baden-Württemberg where the assembly would take place. All assembly instructions in the form of Excel files and the necessary CAD files were loaded on the tablet PC, which was then used for the step-by-step assembly.

A large amount of data was compactly sorted in an extremely small space, clearly arranged, and made available bit by bit. That’s what HeiMAX OPS is all about.

Michael Messerschmidt

Business Development, Software

Synchronous work enabled

Up to 50 people can work on assembly simultaneously. “HeiMAX OPS specifies the exact assembly sequence so that the foreman can clearly determine the personnel who should be sent to the machine and when,” explains Messerschmidt. First of all, the mechanics can assemble the components using the precise instructions on the tablet PC. Mounting plate installed on XEye? They click “In Ordnung” (Okay) and the tablet displays the next step. Later on, the electricians install the electric cables and circuits and IT staff upload the necessary information to the hardware.

Overview and filter functions

Installers work together either in parallel or sequentially. The system automatically synchronizes the information on all the tablets as soon as it’s entered so that each member of the team is always up to date. However, it’s also possible for employees to filter the display to view only their own steps.

Optimally processed

The data entered is then automatically processed by the software. Report, statistics, and defect lists can be generated anytime with a single click. The assembly supervisor can view the documentation, verify items that are still pending, and decide what needs to be done next. Remove unnecessary inspection point? Optimize the order of the assembly steps? Ask the mechanic why the screw wasn’t lubricated, initiate troubleshooting ... the next software release contains all the improvements. Michael Friess, Managing Director of HEITEC PTS GmbH, is thrilled. “The assistance software has also proven to be outstanding for assembly,” says Friess.

From pilot project to production

Soon the machines mounted in parallel will be finished. After the pilot project has been evaluated and analyzed, the wheel robots (HDWRs) will be disassembled and installed directly in the aluminum wheel manufacturer’s production line. At that point, service and maintenance will no longer be a concern: They’ll be handled by HeiMAX OPS’s older brothers …

Monitoring assembly in China online

Meanwhile, the HDWRs are being manufactured under license in Asia. “HeiMAX OPS is also being used there,” explains Messerschmidt. “Our IT personnel here in Germany can monitor the progress of colleagues in China online at any time and promptly offer them support if problems arise.”

HeiMAX also used for machine acceptance tests

There are now plans to generate a third tool from the HeiMAX assistant. After the machine or plant has been successfully built, this tool will facilitate the acceptance test. “That’s still being done in the conventional way,” explains Messerschmidt. The requirements are listed on the contractual documents and the manufacturer and customer go over the list item by item, checking off each one individually. Defect documentation and to-do lists are also generated manually and dates are scheduled to take care of them. After all this, the final acceptance test can be performed. “Our assistance tool can do this much more efficiently,” says Messerschmidt.

Menü

HeiDetect Wheel Robot

Ein Roboter sorgt für perfekte Felgen

HEITEC PTS GmbH ist in der HEITEC Unternehmensgruppe vor allem in der Robotik- und Automatisierungsbranche unterwegs: Zum Beispiel mit der vollautomatischen Räderprüfanlage „HeiDetect Wheel Robot“, mit der Alugussfelgen auf defekte geprüft werden können.

Komplexe Anlage

Die Anlage besteht aus einem Computertomographen und einem Roboterarm, der die Felgen aufnimmt, im CT dreht und wieder abgibt. Die Datenauswertung erfolgt mit einer vom Fraunhofer-Entwicklungszentrum Röntgentechnik (EZRT) programmierten Spezialsoftware. Der Räder-Röntgen-Roboter wird unter anderem in der Automobilbranche verwendet und dabei immer in eine Produktionslinie integriert. Größenordnung der HDWR (HeiDetect Wheel Robot): Rund 35 Kubikmeter Volumen und 12 Tonnen Gewicht.

HeiMAX OPS assistiert beim Aufbau

Der Aufbau einer solchen Anlage ist komplex. Verständlich, dass man hierfür nach einer Lösung sucht, die ebenso fehlerfrei und präzise vonstattengeht wie später der Betrieb. So landet 2017 folgende Produktanfrage bei Michael Messerschmidt, Leiter des Geschäftsfelds Software bei HEITEC: Könnt ihr nicht euren Wartungsassistenten HeiMAX so umfunktionieren, dass er uns bereits bei der Montage der Maschine hilft? „Die Herausforderung haben wir natürlich angenommen, denn von der Programmarchitektur her war das kein Problem“, erinnert sich Messerschmidt. Einige Monate später war HeiMAX OPS entwickelt.

Erfolgreiches Pilotprojekt

Das OPS steht dabei für „operation“, sprich den Aufbau. Felix Richter, Abteilungsleiter Fertigung, Montage und Projektverantwortlicher Röntgentechnik bei HEITEC PTS GmbH, war beim Pilotprojekt mit dem mobilen Aufbauassistenten dabei: „Im Herbst haben wir die erste Maschine mit Hilfe der HeiMAX-OPS-Software montiert.“ Nach vier Wochen stand die Anlage und die ersten Erfahrungsberichte mit dem Assistenztools landeten bei Messerschmidt. „Ein paar Änderungen mussten wir vornehmen, da etwa Montageschritte in einer anderen Reihenfolge einfach sinnvoller waren. Insgesamt hat sich die Truppe aber zufrieden mit der Software gezeigt“, ist das Fazit des Softwareexperten.

Per Touch zur Doku

Was hat der digitale Aufbau für Vorteile? Seitenweise Montageanleitungen fallen ebenso weg wie die anschließende händische Dokumentation des Aufbaus. Das erledigt HeiMAX OPS per Touch auf dem Display. Aufbaufehler, die beim nächsten Mal vermieden werden sollen, können unkompliziert dokumentiert werden, ebenso wie Vorschläge zur Optimierung des Prozesses.

Auch für den Vorgesetzten hat der digital nachvollziehbare Aufbau messbare Vorteile: Zu jedem Zeitpunkt kann er online prüfen, wie weit der Prozess fortgeschritten ist. Kann seine Mitarbeitenden effizient einteilen, Aufgaben sinnvoll delegieren und den gesamten Prozess realistisch planen. Das zahlt sich aus. Ganz davon abgesehen, dass Wissen und Erfahrungen nicht verloren gehen, sondern vielmehr vom System gespeichert und weiterverarbeitet werden. Das Programm lernt mit.

HeiMAX OPS geht auch in Serie

Anfang 2018 sollte sich das Assistenztool dann bereits in größerem Maßstab bewähren: Ein Hersteller von Alurädern, langjähriger Kunde von HEITEC, wollte mit dem Assistenztool HeiMAX OPS mehrere Wheel Robots parallel montieren.

Dafür wurden zunächst die nötigen Bauteile produziert und Anfang Januar in die Halle nach Kuchen in Baden-Württemberg transportiert, wo der Aufbau erfolgen sollte. Alle Bauanleitungen in Form von Excel-Dateien waren zuvor zusammen mit den nötigen CAD-Dateien aufs Tablet-PC gespeist worden, von dem anschließend der Aufbau Schritt für Schritt abgearbeitet wurde.

Eine Menge an Daten auf kleinstem Raum kompakt sortiert, übersichtlich und häppchenweise abrufbar. HeiMAX OPS eben.

Michael Messerschmidt

Geschäftsfeldentwicklung Software

Synchron arbeiten möglich

Insgesamt können bis zu 50 Personen gleichzeitig am Aufbau arbeiten. „HeiMAX OPS gibt die genaue Abfolge vor, sodass für den Meister klar erkennbar ist, welches Personal er wann an die Maschine schickt“, erklärt Messerschmidt. So können zunächst die Mechaniker die Bauteile anhand der genauen Vorgaben auf dem Tablet-PC montieren. Montageplatte auf XEye montiert? Auf dem Tablet wird auf „In Ordnung“ geklickt, der nächste Schritt angezeigt. Später verlegen die Elektriker Kabel und Schaltungen; die Softworker speisen die Hardware mit den nötigen Infos.

Überblick und Filterfunktionen

Die Monteure arbeiten Hand in Hand, parallel oder nacheinander. Das System synchronisiert eingegebene Infos auf allen Tablets sofort nach Eingabe automatisch, sodass alle im Team jederzeit auf dem aktuellen Stand sind, sich aber gefiltert auch nur ihre eigenen Arbeitsschritte anzeigen lassen können.

Optimal verarbeitet

Die eingespeisten Daten werden anschließend automatisch von der Software verarbeitet. Rapport, Statistiken, Mängelliste – jederzeit per Klick generierbar. Der Chef kann sich die Dokumentation ansehen, etwa die nicht erledigten Punkte prüfen und entscheiden, was jeweils zu tun ist: Unnötigen Prüfpunkt entfernen? Reihenfolge in der Montage optimieren? Beim Mechaniker nachfragen, warum die Schraube nicht geschmiert wurde, die Fehlerbehebung in Auftrag geben… Beim nächsten Software-Release sind alle Verbesserungen mit drin. Michael Frieß, Geschäftsführer bei HEITEC PTS GmbH, ist begeistert. „Die Assistenzsoftware hat sich auch für die Montage hervorragend bewährt“, ist sein Resümee.

Aus dem Pilotprojekt in die Produktion

Demnächst sind die parallel montierten Maschinen fertig. Nach Auswertung und Analyse des Pilotprojekts werden die Wheel Robots (HDWR) wieder abgebaut und bei dem Hersteller von Alurädern direkt in die Produktlinie eingebaut. Wartung und Instandhaltung sind ab diesem Zeitpunkt kein Thema mehr – dafür gibt es ja bereits den älteren Bruder HeiMAX …

Aufbau in China online überwachen

Inzwischen werden die HDWR sogar in Lizenz in Asien gefertigt. „Dabei wird auch HeiMAX OPS verwendet“, erläutert Messerschmidt. „Unsere ITler hier können von Deutschland aus jederzeit online sehen, wie die Kollegen in China vorankommen und bei Problemen zeitnah unterstützen.“

HeiMAX auch für die Abnahme von Maschinen

Geplant ist nun, ein drittes Tool aus dem HeiMAX-Assistenten zu generieren, der nach dem erfolgreichen Aufbau einer Maschine oder Anlage auch deren Abnahme erleichtert. „Das erfolgt bisher immer noch konventionell“, erklärt Messerschmidt: Auf den Vertragsdokumenten sind die Anforderungen gelistet, Hersteller und Kunde prüfen gemeinsam Punkt für Punkt und haken händisch ab. Mängeldokumentation und Offene-Punkte-Liste werden ebenfalls manuell erstellt und Termine zur Beseitigung vereinbart. Dann erst erfolgt die endgültige Abnahme. „Das kann unser Assistenztool effizienter“, ist Messerschmidt überzeugt.

Menü